South African Institute of Physics

NPO Registration Number: 130-172 NPO SAQA Professional Body ID: 777 <u>http://www.saip.org.za/</u>

Postnet Suite 165, Private Bag X025, LYNNWOOD RIDGE, 0040, South Africa



Prof. P. A Woudt (President) University of Cape Town - Tel: +27 (0)21 650 2392 Email: pwoudt@ast.uct.ac.za Prof. R. R Maphanga (Honorary Secretary) Council for Scientific and Industrial Research Tel: +27 (0)12 841 4931 Email: rmaphanga@csir.co.za Mr. B. Masara (Executive Officer) Tel: +27 (0) 12 8412627Fax: +27 86 605 0871 Email: brian.masara@saip.org.za

Date: 24 January 2019

Dear SAIP Member

Nominations for Council Members 2019 - 2021

With reference to the constitution and by-laws of the SAIP, this letter serves as a call for nominations for the following Council portfolios for the term 2019 – 2021.

- President-Elect
- Secretary
- Treasurer
- Ordinary members of council (4 in total).

An individual may be nominated for more than one position. An individual may only serve three (3) consecutive terms as an ordinary member of Council. The three term limit is not applicable to the portfolios of Secretary and Treasurer.

For nominations to be valid:

- The nominee has to be a paid up Honorary, Emeritus, Ordinary, Retired or Associate member.
- The nomination needs to be proposed and seconded by voting members of good standing.
- All nominations must be made on the Council approved nomination form (attached) and all sections need to be completed.
- The nominee needs to accept the nomination by means of an acceptance signature on the nomination form.

All nomination forms must reach the secretary electronically **on or before 03 May 2019.** Online voting will take place from May to June 2019.

The current Council members are:

President: Prof Patrick Woudt (UCT) President-Elect: Prof Deena Naidoo (Wits) Past-President: Prof Azwinndini Muronga (NMU) Treasurer: Prof Andre Venter (NMU) Secretary: Prof Regina Maphanga (CSIR) Executive Officer: Mr Brian Masara (SAIP) Ordinary Elected Council Members: Prof Makaiko Chithambo (Rhodes), Prof Martin Ntwaeaborwa (Wits), Dr Rudzani Nemutudi (iThemba Labs) and Dr Iyabo Usman (Wits).

Additional Co-opted Members of Council:: Prof Ernest van Dyk (NMU), Dr Hellen Chuma (Johnson Matthey), Dr Buyi Sondezi (UJ) and Dr John Bosco Habarulema (SANSA) and Mr Luthendo Netwadzi (UJ).

Yours truly, Regina Maphanga Honorary Secretary SAIP

Other Council Members

Prof. A.Venter (Treasurer – NMMU), Prof. D Naidoo (President- Elect -WITS), Prof M. Ntwaeaborwa (WITS), Prof A. Muronga (NMMU), Prof M. Chithambo (Rhodes) Dr R. Nemutudi (iThemba Labs), Dr.J. B. Habarulema (SANSA) Dr B Sondezi (UJ), Dr H. Chuma (Johnson Matthey)Dr I. T Usman (WITS)

Physical Address