# **South African Institute of Physics**



NPO Registration Number: 130-172 NPO SAQA Professional Body ID: 777

http://www.saip.org.za/

Postnet Suite 165, Private Bag X025, LYNNWOOD RIDGE, 0040, South Africa

Prof. D. Naidoo (President)

University of the Witwatersrand- Tel: +27 (0)11 717 6866 Email: deena.naidoo@wits.ac.za

Prof. R.R. Maphanga (Honorary Secretary)

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research Tel: +27 (0)12 841 4931 Email: rmaphanga@csir.co.za

Mr. B. Masara (Executive Officer)

Tel: +27 (0) 12 8412627 Fax: +27 86 605 0871 Email: brian.masara@saip.org.za

Date: 26 March 2021

Dear SAIP Member

## Call for Nominations to SAIP Council for the period 2021 - 2023

This letter serves as a call for nominations for the following SAIP Council positions for the term 2021 – 2023. The council positions available for nominations include President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and four (4) Ordinary members.

An individual may be nominated for more than one position. An individual may only serve three (3) consecutive terms as an ordinary member of the Council. The three-term limit is not applicable to the portfolios of the Secretary and Treasurer. For nominations to be valid:

- The nominee has to be a paid-up PrPhys, PrPhysTECH, Honorary, Fellow, Emeritus, Ordinary, Retired or Associate member.
- The nomination needs to be proposed and seconded by voting members of good standing.
- All nominations must be made on the Council approved nomination form (attached), and all sections need to be completed.
- The nominee needs to accept the nomination by means of an acceptance signature on the nomination form.
- For the position of President-Elect, the nominee needs to have previously served on Council.

### The current members of the Council Executive are:

- President: Professor Deena Naidoo (Wits)
- President-Elect: Professor Makaiko Chithambo (Rhodes),
- Past-President: Professor Patrick Woudt (UCT)
- Treasurer: Professor Ernest van Dyk (NMU)
- Secretary: Professor Regina Maphanga (CSIR)

Executive Officer: Mr Brian Masara (SAIP)

## **Ordinary Elected Council Members:**

Professor Iyabo Usman (Wits), Dr Rudolph Erasmus (Wits), Dr Zama Katamzi-Joseph (SANSA)

#### **Additional Co-opted Members of Council:**

Dr John Bosco Habarulema (SANSA), Dr Eric Maluta (UniVen) and Dr Rudzani Nemutudi (iThemba Labs)

All nomination forms must reach the secretary electronically (<a href="mailto:secretary@saip.org.za">secretary@saip.org.za</a>) on or before 15 May 2021. Online voting will take place from May to June 2021.

Yours sincerely,

Regina Maphanga Honorary Secretary SAIP