## **South African Institute of Physics**

NPO Registration Number: 130-172 NPO <u>http://www.saip.org.za/</u> Postnet Suite 165, Private Bag X025, LYNNWOOD RIDGE, 0040, South Africa



Prof. M.L. Chithambo (President) Rhodes University Tel: +27 (0) 46 603 8450 Email: <u>m.chithambo@ru.ac.za</u> Prof. R.R. Maphanga (Honorary Secretary) Council for Scientific and Industrial Research Tel: +27 (0)12 841 4931 Email: <u>rmaphanga@csir.co.za</u> Mr. B. Masara (Executive Officer) Tel: +27 (0) 12 8412627 Fax: +27 86 605 0871 Email: <u>brian.masara@saip.org.za</u>

Media Release

## Learners excel in Physics

On Friday, 29 October 2021, the South African Institute of Physics (SAIP) will announce the South African Physics Olympiad (SAPhO) results to the media, the schools involved and the learners who excelled in the SAPhO examination.

About 40 learners from selected Secondary schools were invited to write the SAPhO 2021. The total number of participants was drastically lower than previous years due to the Covid-19 pandemic and was administered as a hybrid Olympiad; written partially on-line.

"South Africa, like every other country in the world, has amongst its youth, a latent talent that needs to be identified, nurtured and monitored, to allow them to reach their full potential", says Case Rijsdijk, SAPhO Convener. "There are talent scouts for potential sports men and women, why not for Mathematics and Sciences? After all our future lies in education and a technologically based economy. Identifying future scientists and engineers is essential and SAPhO is one pathway to success".

Considering the difficult circumstances we are experiencing, the SAPhO results were most satisfactory.

Miss Leané Oosthuizen, a Grade 12 learner from Leeuwenhof Akademie in Gauteng was the top achiever in this year's Olympiad, with a score of 78%. She will receive a Gold Certificate, R2 200 and the SAIP Medal, which will be presented to her by the South African Institute of Physics.



Miss Leané Oosthuizen – SAPhO Winner 2021

Her teacher, Ms Gerda Swart, said "As a Physical Science teacher at Leeuwenhof Akademie, I strive to give each student the opportunity to reach their full potential. I am extremely proud of Leané. She is a hardworking, dynamic but also a noble young lady".

**Other Council Members** 

Prof. E.E. Van Dyk (Treasurer, NMU); Dr. R.M. Erasmus (President-Elect, WITS); Prof. D. Naidoo (Past-President, WITS); Prof. A. Cornell (UJ) Dr. R. Nemutudi (iThemba LABS); Dr. Z. Katamzi-Joseph (SANSA); Dr. E.N. Maluta (UNIVEN); Prof. R.D. Strauss (NWU); Prof. E. Carleschi (UJ); Prof. M. Mathuthu (NWU)

**Physical Address** 

Leané herself said "I have a very curious spirit and always need to know how "things" work and why. I started reading and walking at the same time – fascinated by the world around me and life as a whole. There is science (which to me means logic) in almost everything around us . With the internet at my fingertips, I continue to feed my curiosity; there is more to being just scientific – the huge field of science touches our daily lives in so many ways. I love making sense of it! I'm planning to study medicine next year - exploring the world and life even more".

In second place was Mr. Bhengu Sandiswa, a Grade 12 learner from Sithokozile Secondary school, KZN, who won this year's Silver Certificate with a score of 76% and R1 600. Mr. Caleb Bessit, from St Barnabas School of Specialisation, who with 74%, scooped third place with a Bronze Certificate and R 1 200.

SAPhO will also award those who scored between 70% and 60% Merit Certificates for their achievements and those who scored between 59% and 50% will receive Honourable Mention Certificates. The remaining learners will receive Participation Certificates to acknowledge their participation in the Olympiad.

The SAPhO Convener, Case Rijsdijk, has said that he is grateful to the Department of Science and Innovation, DSI, and the South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement, SAASTA, for their support and funding. In addition, he also voiced his thanks to the SAIP Executive Officer, Mr. Brian Masara, and the Project Manager, Ms Ndanganeni Mahani for all their efforts in making SAPhO a success. Finally, Mr. Tebogo Mokhine from the SAIP Office is thanked for online SAPhO software management.

SAPhO is hosted by the South African Institute of Physics with the aim of identifying young South Africans with ability in Physics, in the hope that these students will continue to study Physics at tertiary institutions and Universities within South Africa.

SAIP is the "Voice for Physics in South Africa". It is a professional body for practising physicists in a variety of disciplines ranging from Cosmology to Medical Physics. It has several goals, one of which is raising the awareness of Physics and its importance to our daily lives; much of which can be achieved through education. In summary SAIP is working on improving physics education and research, developing and nurturing an inclusive next generation of physicists.

The President of the SAIP, Prof M L Chithambo, is delighted at the success of the 2021 Physics Olympiad. He congratulates all winners and wishes all participants well in the forthcoming examinations.

Ends

For further enquiries contact:

Case Rijsdijk SAPhO Convener particles@mweb.co.za 083 444 2494

Website: <u>www.saip.org.za</u>