Past winners of the Silver Jubilee Medal

2019Dr Darrel NaidooFor his work in Lasers and photonics
2019Prof Du Toit StraussFor his work in Cosmology and Space Science
2015Dr Shazrene NohamedFor her work in Computational Astrophysics
2015Dr Angela DudleyFor her work in Lasers and photonics
2013Dr Amanda WeltmanFor her work in Cosmology and Astrophysics
2009Dr. C.M. Steenkamp For her achievements in laser spectroscopy
2007Dr. K. MoodleyFor his achievements in Cosmology
2003Dr. K.K. Mueller-NedebockFor his achievements in Theoretical Physics
2003Dr. C.M. CressFor her achievements in Astrophysics
2001Dr. R. De Mello-KochFor his achievements in String Theory
1999Mr. D.B. FishFor his achievements in education and the advancement of physics
1995Dr. S.H. ConnellFor Nuclear Applications
1993Dr. F.G. ScholtzFor work on Nuclear Structure
1991Dr. D.M. WhittalFor achievements in intermediate energy nuclear physics
1989Dr. O.C. de JagerFor cosmic ray astrophysics, especially for the use of advanced statistical methods
1987Dr. H.B. GeyerFor Theoretical Nuclear Physics - particularly Interacting Boson Model
1985Dr. H. BooyensFor Properties of and defects in semiconductor materials (Joint Award)
1985Dr. J.H. BassonFor Properties of and defects in semiconductor materials (Joint Award)
1983Dr. M.M. ThackerayFor original work on Electrochemical Materials
1981Dr. J.B. ClarkFor achievements in High Pressure Physics of Materials